What can I do if I see smoking in a place that is required to be smoke-free?

The first thing to do is to alert staff or the manager, to make sure they are aware. Ask the staff or manager to handle it because it's their responsibility to be compliant with the law. If the staff appears to be allowing the smoking to continue, you can file a complaint. For more information or to report a possible violation you may call the CARE-LINE at 1-800-662-7030 (Bilingual services are available in over 150 languages.) 7 a.m. – 11 p.m., seven days a week. If calling between the hours of 11 p.m. and 7 a.m., you may leave a message and your call will be returned; or you can visit www.smokefree.nc.gov; or you may call your local health department. Information about potential violations will be shared with Local Health Directors, who have responsibility for enforcement in their counties.

What if a smoker is asked to put out the cigarette or take it outside and refuses?

In the rare event that someone does not comply when asked, smokers who break the law can be charged with an infraction by local law enforcement. The fine may be up to \$50.

Where can I get help if I want to quit smoking?

Call the N.C. Tobacco Use Quitline, which operates from 8:00 a.m. until 3 a.m. seven days a week. The toll-free number for North Carolina is **1-800-QUIT-NOW** or **1-800-784-8669**. The Quitline services are available to all North Carolinians. Expert Tobacco Quit Coaches can call you back upon request. English, Spanish and other languages are available. All calls are free and confidential.



State of North Carolina • Department of Health and Human Services www.ncdhhs.gov N.C. DHHS is an equal opportunity employer and provider. 11/09





North Carolina. Now serving smoke-free air.

Now Serving Smoke-Free Air in North Carolina Bars and Restaurants

Starting January 2, 2010



Breathe easy!

What could be more important for good health than clean, safe smoke-free air to breathe?

The good health of workers and customers alike is the best reason to ensure smoke-free public places and workplaces. Smoke-free restaurants and bars are good for North Carolina residents, workers, businesses and visitors.

North Carolina's smoke-free law prohibits smoking in enclosed areas of almost all bars and restaurants in the state, with very few exceptions*. Smoking is also not allowed in enclosed areas of lodging establishments, such as hotels, motels, and inns, if the establishment prepares and serves food or drink. A lodging establishment may designate **no more** than 20 percent of its guest rooms as smoking rooms.

Why was the law passed?

When the NC General Assembly passed the new law, it included explaining that secondhand smoke "has been proven to cause cancer, heart disease, and asthma attacks in both smokers and nonsmokers. In 2006, a report issued by the United States Surgeon General stated that the scientific evidence indicates that there is no risk-free level of exposure to secondhand smoke."

This means that breathing in smoke from someone else's cigarette, cigar or pipe could be harmful to you. The Surgeon General has concluded that no level of exposure to secondhand smoke is safe. The new law protects people from the harm caused by secondhand smoke in restaurants, bars and many lodging facilities.

What does the law require of people who smoke?

Beginning January 2, 2010, smokers will have to step outside of restaurants, bars, and the common areas of most lodging establishments – such as lobbies and meeting rooms – in order to smoke.

Can restaurant or bar employees smoke anywhere indoors?

No. Smoking is not permitted in enclosed areas, including private offices and break rooms. See exceptions below.

Is smoking allowed in the outdoor areas of restaurants and bars?

The new state law does not require unenclosed areas of restaurants, bars, and lodging establishments to be smoke-free. These establishments may, however voluntarily put into place a policy that prohibits smoking in these unenclosed areas, such as decks and patios that are open to the outside.

Are there any restaurants, bars or lodging establishments that do NOT have to follow the law?*

Yes. The following types of establishments are not required to be smoke-free:

- Cigar bars that meet a list of requirements
- Private clubs that meet a list of requirements, including that they must be non-profit organizations *

*This means that a for profit restaurant, bar or nightclub cannot avoid going smoke-free by calling themselves a "private club."

- Establishments that serve food, but are exempt from the state's sanitation laws
- Lodging establishments that do not serve food or drink for pay
- Lodging establishments that are exempt from the state's food sanitation laws
- Guest rooms in lodging establishments designated as smoking (not more than 20 percent of all rooms)